Cary is currently under a Stay-at-Home order in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Most public-facing and staffed facilities are closed to the public, including Town Hall. All playgrounds are closed but greenways, parks, and park restrooms remain open at this time. Some services have been canceled or are limited. Learn more.

To view news releases from previous years, choose the year from the All Categories menu and click the Archived News button.

Three Named Cary’s Hometown Spirit Award Finalists

Winner To Be Announced During November 21 Council Meeting

Post Date:11/07/2019 9:36 AM

CARY, NC – Three Cary residents have been selected as finalists for the Town of Cary’s Hometown Spirit Award. The Hometown Spirit Award is bestowed annually on one Cary resident who enhances the quality of life in Cary by preserving, promoting and carrying out positive and quantifiable, traditional small-town community values and traits. 

The 2019 Hometown Spirit Award finalists are:

  • Frank Yarborough, CEO of Avcon, Inc., active member of his church, and provider to special needs children.
  • Sharon Lake-Gargano, an active volunteer in Cary and founder of Porch-Western Wake, an organization that donates food to Cary neighbors in need as well as local food pantries and families deployed soldiers.
  • Anthony Blackman, president of Atlantic Tire & Service, Cary Chamber’s Citizen of the Year, and supporter of various organizations in Cary. 

“All nominees actively demonstrate the core principles of the award program. They are all dedicated to enhancing Cary’s quality of life and preserving the small-town atmosphere that makes our community such a great place,” said Taylor Herring, Clerk Administrative Assistant. 

The Cary Town Council will host a reception in honor of all three finalists on November 21 from 5:15-6:15 p.m. in the Cary Town Hall Lobby. Immediately following the reception, the 2018 award recipient, Guy Mendenhall, will join Mayor Harold Weinbrecht in the Council Chambers at the 6:30 p.m. Council meeting to announce this year’s winner.

For more information, visit or call (919) 469-4011.


Primary Contacts

Taylor Herring, Clerk Administrative Assistant, (919) 469-4011
Ginny Johnson, Town Clerk, (919) 460-4941


Frank Yarborough
Sharon Lake-Gargano
Anthony Blackman
Hometown Spirit Award
Archive of Hometown Spirit Award Recipients

Return to full list >>