Jerry Miller Artist Awards

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

In 2001, to commemorate the 25th annual festival, the Lazy Daze Committee instituted the Lazy Daze Invitation Awards, now named the Jerry Miller Artist Awards. The awards honor the Lazy Daze founding father, local artist Jerry Miller. The Jerry Miller Artist Award winners are judged to be the "best in the show" for the Lazy Daze Festival. They represent a wide range of artistic forms and styles. Each award winner is automatically invited to participate in Lazy Daze the following year and is also exempt from festival fees that year. Each year, there are six artists honored with this award.

2016 Jerry Miller Artist Award Winners


Courtney Tomchick, Clay


Gayland Preacher, Fiber/Leather


Paul Miller, Furniture


Kim Kearnery, Jewelry


Michelle McDowell-Smith, Mixed Media


Richard Hedgecock, Painting