Council

Banner

Council Duties and Responsibilities

Cary Town Council Liaison Responsibilities
Updated December 8, 2015

General duties of the Cary Town Council Members include:

  1. Establishing policies and programs for the effective delivery of Town services;
  2. Approving the annual financial plan and budget and setting the property tax rate and all user fees; and
  3. Providing all ordinances, rules and regulations for the welfare of the Town.

In addition to its general duties, Cary Town council members perform numerous ceremonial duties and serve as liaisons to many organizations, including Town of Cary government groups and organizations outside Town governmentweek-at-a-glance schedule depicts the official activities of Cary Town Council members.

Town of Cary Organizations

All Town meetings are open to the public. More information about these public bodies, including agenda and minutes, are on the Web pages shown in the table below. The Town of Cary Web calendar lists all meeting dates, times, locations and other pertinent details.

Town of Cary Organization Name

Council Liaison(s)

Contact Person


Council Committees

Economic Development Committee

Weinbrecht, Smith and Robinson

Intergovernmental Relations Manager Lana Hygh; lana.hygh@townofcary.org; (919) 469-4006

Cary/Apex Water Treatment Facility Advisory Committee Weinbrecht  

Water Resources Director Steve Brown; steve.brown@townofcary.org; (919) 462-3880

*Cary/Chatham County Joint Issues Committee

Robinson and Bush

Town of Cary Planning Director Jeff Ulma; jeff.ulma@townofcary.org; (919) 319-4580

*Cary/Morrisville Joint Issues Committee

Weinbrecht, Robinson and Bush

Intergovernmental Relations Manager Lana Hygh; lana.hygh@townofcary.org; (919) 469-4006

Western Wake Partners Policy Advisory Committee  Weinbrecht Water Resources Director Steve Brown; steve.brown@townofcary.org; (919) 462-3880


Boards/Commissions

*Environmental Advisory Board

Bush

Town of Cary Sustainability Manager Emily Barrett; Emily.barrett@townofcary.org
(919) 469-5125

Historic Preservation Commission

Yerha

Town of Cary Senior Planner Anna Readling;anna.readling@townofcary.org; (919) 469-4084

*Information Services Advisory Board

Bush

Town of Cary Public Information Director Susan Moran; susan.moran@townofcary.org
(919) 460-4951

*Parks, Recreation and Cultural Resources Advisory Board

Frantz

Town of Cary Parks, Recreation and Cultural Resources Director Doug McRainey; doug.mcrainey@townofcary.org
(919) 460-4973

*Planning and Zoning Board

Smith

Town of Cary Planning Director Jeff Ulma; jeff.ulma@townofcary.org; (919) 319-4580

*Public Art Advisory Board

George

Town of Cary Public Art Coordinator Denise Dickens; denise.dickens@townofcary.org
(919) 465-4791

*Zoning Board of Adjustment

Robinson

Town of Cary Senior Planner Debra Grannan; debra.grannan@townofcary.org
(919) 460-4980

Note: This document will be updated as needed.